Access Hip Hop ACCESSHIPHOP.COM

Reviews Written by: Nasty

Blame One - Days Chasing Days CD
Blame One - Days Chasing Days CD

WOW, April 23, 2009

I am a big fan of Blame, and I had high hopes for this album, all my expectations were blown away. Cant believe how well put together this album is. This will be in my running for best of 2009 for sure.

Big ups Blame Uno!!

 -
-

This album is dope....., September 9, 2008

Wow. Thats all I can say. I have heard a few other Chuck Dimes albums before and liked them, I have seen him live quite a few times and always been impressed. Chuck has really grown up on this release though. From the production to his flow to the concept and theme of the album. Dope shit.

Buy this album.

Nasty~

 -
-

Collagey...., March 4, 2008

This mix is so fresh. I was hearing a bunch of hype about it but it was from a bunch of cats who know Collagey personally. Honestly I was skeptical. But then I finally listened to it. It really is dope from beginning to end. Its got lounge, jazz, hip hop, soul, funk, r&b, reggae everything!! I love this mix. Buy it. Nasty~

Othello - Alive at the AssemblyLine CD
Othello - Alive at the AssemblyLine CD

Good stuff -, November 9, 2007

Just like the Ohmega Watts albums, this one is every bit as good as "Elevator Music" but has a more mature and polished vibe to it. Really very good though. And the free EP that comes with it is dope too. You get an email from Access right after you buy the album with a link to the EP free download. Buy this album. Nasty

Ohmega Watts - Watts Happening 2xCD
Ohmega Watts - Watts Happening 2xCD

Buy this album!!, November 9, 2007

If you liked "The Find" you will love this album. Its a little more polished and a more mature sound than the find but every bit as good. And the second disc is all the instrumentals!! I wish every album came with the instros. Seriously. Nasty

Blame One - Priest, Thief + Wizard CD
Blame One - Priest, Thief + Wizard CD

Blame is dope..., October 10, 2007

This is a very solid album. Very personal, very real. Theres nothing fake about Blame One. Dude has a very unique sound/style too. This is the only Blame album I have and I intend on buying them all in time...

Plus, Blame is a cool dude.

Buy this album!

Nasty~

The Heliocentrics - Out There CD
The Heliocentrics - Out There CD

Wow...., October 10, 2007

No one sounds like Heliocentrics. This album is freaking dope!! A must have for any hip-hop/jazz head.

Buy this album!

Nasty~

Joe Beats - Diverse Recourse CD
Joe Beats - Diverse Recourse CD

Oustanding, October 10, 2007

I'm huge into instrumental music, Fat Jon, Bonobo, Cinematic Orchestra etc....

Joe Beats music is about as good as it gets. I suggest you buy everything you can find by him. Its all very good.

J Dilla (Jay Dee) - Donuts CD
J Dilla (Jay Dee) - Donuts CD

Jay Dee's best work, October 10, 2007

And thats saying a lot!! Does this album need to be reviewed? Does anyone not love this album? Outstanding beginning to end. In my opinion its Dillas best work.

Rest In Peace.

Madlib - Beat Konducta v.3-4 India CD
Madlib - Beat Konducta v.3-4 India CD

Spoke too soon...., October 10, 2007

This album is dope. I actually listened to it a bunch more and love it. Every once in a while I speak too soon. Its funny, Madlib is definitely one of those cats you really have to give a few chances to. I didn't like the Unseen the first time I heard it either and it ended up being one of my all time favorite albums.

I say buy this album and listen to it a bunch before you decide.

Nasty~

Blu & Exile - Below the Heavens CD
Blu & Exile - Below the Heavens CD

Oh my god!!!, September 27, 2007

I havent been this excited about an album in years. #1 this is Exiles best work to date by far. Exile is the producer to watch in the next 5 years for sure. I could see him blowing up big time. He has a sound I've been looking for. And Blu is rediculous. Who is this kid? His voice, his flow, his delivery, his content, he has a young and hungry feel to him but also a maturity that you usually dont see in such a young Emcee on their first release. I expect huge thing from both of these cats in the future.

I've been saying this since this album came out but album of '07 for sure.

Binary Star - Masters of the Universe CD
Binary Star - Masters of the Universe CD

I was sleeping!!!, September 27, 2007

I got into One.Be.Lo and his solo albums before I checked out this one. I have to say I like this album better than either of his solo releases and I love both of those. This album is very good. I hope they do more together.

Black Milk - Popular Demand Inst. CD
Black Milk - Popular Demand Inst. CD

Dope!, September 27, 2007

I was hoping the instros would be released for this album. Not much to say, if you liked the album you'll definitely want these.

Black Milk - Popular Demand CD
Black Milk - Popular Demand CD

Buy this album., September 27, 2007

Yeah if you like Slum Village, Jay Dee and that whole Detroit sound you will love this album. Dudes production is on point and the guest spots on here are dope. The song with Slum Village is the shit!!

Da Beatminerz - Unmarked Music 2xCD
Da Beatminerz - Unmarked Music 2xCD

Didnt like it...., September 27, 2007

Real raw, real dirty? The essence of beat digging? More like real boring, over used samples and the accapellas over the instros dont seem to fit. I wish I could return this one.

 -
-

Buy this album..., September 27, 2007

This album is very good. These guys have a unique sound. I dont know why but I get the feeling they might be a one album wonder though. Not saying I dont think they could make another good album, more that they just wont. Like the Bush Babees. That's not really relevant to whether or not you should buy this album but I get that feeling.

Long story short, buy this album. You wont be dissapointed.

Diplo & Tripledouble - AEIOU Two CD
Diplo & Tripledouble - AEIOU Two CD

Not bad, September 27, 2007

I dont know what I expected when ordering this cd. I am not familiar with Diplo's music at all. This music is pretty good though. More on the blues, funk, soul side of instrumental stuff. Some really good samples, some samples you've heard a million times. I guess I would say this album is worth buying if your into this kinda stuff, but it wont blow your mind.

Oh No - Dr. No's Oxperiment CD
Oh No - Dr. No's Oxperiment CD

This album is DOPE!!!, September 14, 2007

My only complaint is that its too short. Short songs, short album. It's dope though. Oh No's production just keeps getting better and better. I would buy anything he puts out.

Buy this album.

Madlib - Beat Konducta v.3-4 India CD
Madlib - Beat Konducta v.3-4 India CD

Not what I expected..., September 14, 2007

Its funny, I heard about this album before Oh No's Oxperiment was released. I got Oxperiment and loved it. Its what I expected this album to sound like. I think I might be losing interest in the direction Madlib is going with his music. I'll always be a huge fan but I can only take so much of this kind of stuff from him. I wish he'd get back to hip hop and make another Lootpack album. If you love all the YNQ stuff and like where he's headed you'll probably love this album. I just think its okay though.

Definitely a must have for any Madlib fan though.

Blockhead - Uncle Tony's Coloring Bk. CD
Blockhead - Uncle Tony's Coloring Bk. CD

Very interesting...., September 14, 2007

My favorite album by Blockhead is Music by Cavelight although I liked Downtown Science too. This album is very different than either of those. More upbeat, more energetic but I like it a lot. He even says something in the liner notes about "To my fans dissapointed in the upbeat feel of this album, dont worry, I'll get back to the moody depressed stuff of my past on my next project".

I liked it a lot though. If you like his stuff, definitely check this one.


©2019 Access Hip Hop. Contact Us - Privacy Policy