Talib Kweli & 9th Wonder - Indie 500 2xLP

Talib Kweli & 9th Wonder - Indie 500 2xLPTalib Kweli & 9th Wonder
Label: It's A Wonderful World Music Group
Year: 2015
Price: $23.95
Format: Vinyl

No customer reviews yet.
Write your own review

Out of stock.

Two of Hip Hop's icons, Talib Kweli and 9th Wonder, have come together to create INDIE 500. The album features an All Star supporting cast, including Problem, Slug (of Atmosphere), Rapsody, Pharaoh Monch, Brother Ali, Hi-Tek, NIKO IS and more.

After exploding on to the scene as one half of the legendary Black Star alongside Mos Def in 1998, Talib Kweli quickly followed up in 2000 with the album Train of Thought, his collaborative effort with producer Hi-Tek. As fans, critics and his peers unanimously agreed, Kweli was cemented as one of hip hop's top lyricists and continued to release one acclaimed album after another - garnering direct praise from Jay-Z on his song ''Moment of Clarity'' from Jay-Z's classic The Black Album.

Meanwhile as the early 2000's progressed, a new trio was bursting on the scene from North Carolina known as Little Brother. Behind the boards of this trio was producer 9th Wonder, who very quickly established himself as one of hip hop's best producers. As their 2003 album The Listening reached a fever pitch, 9th Wonder's buzz became so hot he claimed a highly coveted production spot as well on Jay-Z's The Black Album.

A collaboration between Kweli and 9th makes perfect sense, but INDIE 500 represents even more to the artists: ''I've always been a fan of collectives, like Native Tongues and the Dungeon Family,'' explains Kweli. ''INDIE 500 is a tribute to the spirit of unity exemplified by some of great hip hop artists that influenced us.'' Collectives are nothing new to the two, who have both successfully run their own labels in Blacksmith, Javotti (Kweli) and Jamla (9th Wonder), helping to break a number of popular artists over the years.

Produced by Nottz (tracks 1, 9, 11); Hi-Tek (2); Eric G (3); Khrysis (4, 12, 13); 9th Wonder (5-8); E. Jones (10).

1.Which Side Are You On (feat. Tef Poe / Kendra Ross)
2.Every Ghetto (feat. Rapsody (Kooley High))
3.Pay Ya Dues (feat. Problem / Bad Luc)
4.Lo-Fi (feat. Niko Is)
5.Prego (feat. Pharoahe Monk / Slug)
6.Life Ahead Of Me (feat. Rapsody (Kooley High))
7.Great Day In The Mourning (feat. Add 2)
8.Don't Be Afraid (feat. Rapsody (Kooley High) / Problem / Bad Lucc)
9.These Waters (feat. K'Valentine / Niko Is / Chris Robb / Jessica Care Moore)
10.King Shit (feat. Niko Is / GQ)
11.Bangers (feat. MK Asante / Halo)
12.Technicolor Easels (feat. Niko Is)
13.Understand (feat. Brother Ali / Planet Asia)

Share your thoughts with us! Write your own review.

©2019 Access Hip Hop. Contact Us - Privacy Policy