Various Artists - Sounds of the Onyx 10" EP

Various Artists - Sounds of the Onyx 10" EPVarious Artists
Label: Giant Step
Year: 2013
Price: $9.95
Format: Vinyl

No customer reviews yet.
Write your own review

Out of stock.

Rare jazz recordings from the Prohibition Era, remixed by some of the best hip-hop/urban music producers of today, including Pete Rock, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Om'Mas Keith, Shafiq Husayn, JayCeeOh & B-Sides and Tall Black Guy, to celebrate the fourth season of Boardwalk Empire.

Pete Rock remixed one of the new tracks from the official soundtrack: a cover version of the classic composition ''Sugarfoot Stomp'' performed by Vince Giordano & The Nighthawks, who serve as the Boardwalk Empire house band. Om'Mas Keith remixed ''One Sweet Letter From You'' by Ethel Waters, originally recorded in 1927 in New York and never released by Columbia Records.

While the majority of the source tracks for this project are almost a century old, the spirit of musical fusion, lyrical signification and cultural revolution embodied in the original works truly form the roots of modern American music and DJ culture, from hip-hop to EDM. The featured remixers worked off of original recordings from legends Eva Taylor & Clarence Williams' Blue Five, Ethel Waters, Lloyd Scott & His Orchestra, Jim Jackson and Charlie Johnson's Paradise Ten Orchestra breathing new life into their songs for the gangsters, heroes, and club-denizens of today.

1.Vince Giordano & The Nighthawks - 'Sugarfoot Stomp' (Pete Rock Remix)
2.Eva Taylor & Clarence Williams' Blue Five - 'Red Hot Flo From Kokomo' (DJ Jazzy Jeff Remix)
3.Ethel Waters - 'One Sweet Letter From You' (Om'Mas Keith Remix)
4.Lloyd Scott & His Orchestra - 'Happy Hour Blues' (Shafiq Husayn Remix)
5.Jim Jackson - 'Bootlegging Blues' (Jayceeoh & B-Sides Remix)
6.Charlie Johnson's Paradise Ten Orchestra - 'You Aint The One' (Tall Black Guy Remix)

Share your thoughts with us! Write your own review.

©2019 Access Hip Hop. Contact Us - Privacy Policy