View Full Version : Boycott Hiphopsite.com...
Ipatch
05-17-2003, 01:31 PM
A while ago they advertised having Yesterday's New Quintet's Stevie album on vinyl. It was interesting how low key they were about it... usually they pump up all the Stones Throw releases, but they just snuck this into their new releases section. Seemed a little suspicious...
So I asked a good source about it yesterday, and they said that yep, the Stevie album had been bootlegged, Stones Throw didn't know who did it, and they're VERY pissed. They plan on officially releasing it but are adding new tracks to make up for the jack move.
That's FUCKED UP. I hope the air conditioning goes out at HHS.com and the Vegas sun melts all their shit.
DEMiZe-
05-17-2003, 05:03 PM
Yes, apparently the Justus League Mixtape they are selling is also a bootleg. :(
the pm
05-17-2003, 06:26 PM
the justus leage is NOT a bootleg
they contarted us to put it together
it was handcrafted by 9th wonder himself
just like the the gods stepson
i would go and bad motuh hhs to much
seeing they are the most artist friendly site
they go out of thier way not to sell bootlegd shit
DEMiZe-
05-17-2003, 08:47 PM
Oh word? I never knew you were down with JL..
.. Thanks for clearing that up then. :D
highlife
05-18-2003, 02:03 AM
yo, pm, what's up with those 9th wonder remixes? i heard a grip of them were bootlegs? btw, how in the hell can you tell what a bootleg looks like? i heard 9th has about 3 other 'remix' records out. is this true?
Ipatch
05-18-2003, 08:36 AM
Originally posted by the pm
i would go and bad motuh hhs to much
seeing they are the most artist friendly site
they go out of thier way not to sell bootlegd shit
I don't know man, I think they knew exactly what was going on with that Stevie vinyl. Sandbox never had any... And they press up their own shit, 7"s anyway, so who knows how dirty they were with that... I've been to the store in Vegas a few times and everybody there is super cool and helpful, but this isn't the first instance of shadiness I've heard about them.
the pm
05-18-2003, 08:44 AM
in this business it is hard to stay on top of everything
you canb buy from a reliable distributor and then a
bootleg can slip in....read hhs front page they by far
are the best at avoiding bootlegs
and if they were gonna kill thier credibility by selling a bootleg
im sure it would be something better than YNQ
as for 9th wonder
because of things like kazaa & soulseek people are
putting together thier own justus league comp and
9th wonder remix lp's for the record there are only
We Created The Remix I
We Created The Remix II
God's Stepson
and the Justus League Double CD (HHS Exclusive)
Ipatch
05-19-2003, 07:56 AM
Originally posted by the pm
in this business it is hard to stay on top of everything
you canb buy from a reliable distributor and then a
bootleg can slip in....read hhs front page they by far
are the best at avoiding bootlegs
and if they were gonna kill thier credibility by selling a bootleg
im sure it would be something better than YNQ
Actually I think that would be the perfect thing to bootleg- there are a lot of heads that'll throw down $20 in a heartbeat for anything Stones Throw or Madlib, yet it's not like somebody will rock YNQ at a club where the wrong person might hear it and get pissed.
Yo pm I hope you're right about them being on the up and up. But I know they were selling these, and it shouldn't be too hard for them to know if it's official or bootleg. I have a lot of trouble believing they didn't know what they were doing.
So that "9th invented the Remix" joint is official or no. The one with the HOT ass Common rmx on it.......... not a bootleg i hope.
deejaysteelo
05-19-2003, 08:29 AM
hip hop site and sadbox automatic are both notorious for selling bootlegs, but then they diss on the other website for doing it. those two sites have been beefing with each other for a long time.
the pm
05-19-2003, 09:43 AM
S...
if you have the 9th wonder we created... cd
with a b/w cover & a cd with his logo on it
and it came from sandbox then its real
Orbt1
05-19-2003, 03:23 PM
yo pm how do you know all this about hiphopsite.com
the pm
05-19-2003, 03:38 PM
hip hop is how i pay my bills
Ipatch
05-19-2003, 03:54 PM
Gee, what a coincidence... somebody tried to e-mail me a virus last night after I posted this shit. Damn, that's gangsta...
DEMiZe-
05-19-2003, 04:29 PM
Hahaha.... you gonna blame hip hop site for that too? :p
Ipatch
05-19-2003, 04:42 PM
Originally posted by DEMiZe-
Hahaha.... you gonna blame hip hop site for that too? :p
No I'm not a big enough computer nerd to be able to unravel that stuff... actually, I'm not even a big enough computer nerd to really care- I'm laughing right along with you. Shit IS funny, but like I said, heck of a coincidence too...
I gotta go dig up my Rockwell "Somebody's Watching Me" 12" now...
tgone
05-19-2003, 06:37 PM
Originally posted by Ipatch
Gee, what a coincidence... somebody tried to e-mail me a virus last night after I posted this shit. Damn, that's gangsta...
people try to email me viruses everyday. i doubt it was someone from hiphopsite...
access
05-19-2003, 09:59 PM
I don't want to promote negativity toward hiphopsite... As long as it's just one person expressing an opinion, all right, I'll leave it.
the pm
05-19-2003, 10:04 PM
theres some defense so its all good
deejaysteelo
05-20-2003, 08:16 AM
shit, i live in vegas, and am friends with all the guys who work there. it doesn't change the fact that they bootleg shit or have beef with sandbox.
after i dissed the slanguage album on the shapeshifters board, somebody gave me a virus. my comp was down for 2 weeks and it costs me $200. shit sucked.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.